neteland toerisme
Welcome

The Neteland is a green-belt area in the heart of the Antwerp Kempen region. A brisk walk in the woods, cycling on country roads, strolling past beautiful historic buildings or quietly paddling in a canoe on the Kleine Nete river... You can do all of that in the Neteland.

Together, the municipalities of Grobbendonk, Herentals, Herenthout, Olen and Vorselaar offer a very diverse palette of relaxation and diversion.

Visit us to discover our extensive hiking trail network, go on a both relaxing and exciting cycling tour or spend a day trying a waterborne activity. Our region offers a unique mix of historical heritage, lots of amazing waterways and vast green spaces. The Neteland is the ideal place to relax, but also to practice sports and other such activities.

Visiting...

Grobbendonk

Together with Bouwel, Grobbendonk boasts a long and colourful history dating back to before the beginning of the Christian era. Grobbendonk is known for its great diamond past, and it’s not unusual to unearth Gallo-Roman artefacts.

very dynamic municipality, Grobbendonk is also encouraging many businesses to settle in the area around the E313 motorway and the Albert Canal. In contrast, the area around the ‘Hof van Grobbendonk’, the watermill and Our-Lady-Ten-Troon Priory, where the Kleine Nete embraces its tributary the Aa, is absolutely picture perfect.

Grobbendonk
Herentals

Herentals

Herentals owes its title of ‘Kempen’s historical capital’ to its rich cultural past and fine historic monuments. These include the Boer War Memorial and the Cloth Hall on the Grote Marktplein, the Oud Gasthuis and Le Paige castle nearby and the picturesque Beguinage. The green north is a particularly beautiful area, boasting beautiful nature reserves, dunes and forests in the Kempense Heuvelrug and the babbling Kleine Nete. Herentals is also a true outdoor sports paradise with a wide choice of waterfocused parks and facilities, such as the Netepark and Hidrodoe.

Herenthout

Partake in exuberant festivities, enjoy the beautiful scenery or relax at an ancient inn: you can do it all in Herenthout, nicknamed ‘stoeterdorp’ after its famous carnival parade, the ‘Peer Stoet’ – the oldest in Belgium. Herenthout is also surrounded by truly beautiful natural landscapes: for instance, the wooded area of Merodese Bossen, the Wimpe and ‘t Schipke where the film ‘Pallieter’ was shot. Herlaer castle and the chapel of Uilenberg are also beacons in the streetscape of Herenthout.

Herenthout
Olen

Olen

Numerous folk tales and monuments remind us vividly of the legendary visits of Emperor Charles V to Olen. The welcoming village offers visitors a rich heritage which includes the Olense Cité, its typical village square with the ‘three-ear’ copper mug fountain and the Buulmolen. Olen is also a bustling municipality which offers you a great choice of fun events throughout the year (Gladiolen, the cabaret festival, the Boerkesfeest and ‘Keizer Kriek’). Every year, the town holds the ‘Olense Kartoenale’, attended by cartoonists from all over the world. You can view these cartoons on two wind turbines at the lock complex and during an exhibition.

Vorselaar

In Vorselaar, a quiet and very green town centred on walking and cycling, the letter “K” is ubiquitous as the first letter (in Dutch) of anything worth a visit : the ‘kasteel’ (a beautiful medieval moated castle), the ‘kaak’ (an ancient pillory on the Marktplein), the impressive ‘kloster’ monastery and centre of Catholic education in Flanders, the ‘kerk’ (church), ‘kapelletjes’ (chapels), Kardinaal (Cardinal) van Roey (and his former residence ‘De Schranshoeve’), karaat (carat because of the diamond industry) and kampionenendorp (a village that’s home to many sports champions such as the 1959 ‘Golden Shoe’ winner Lucien Olieslagers, Bart Wellens, Ward Sels, Fons Brydenbach, to name but a few.)

Vorselaar

A land of...

Natural beauty

The Neteland is essentially a ‘leafy’ rural region with a landscape alternating mainly between large nature reserves, vast meadows and oxygen-rich forests. From the box, you undoubtedly know the naturalists and Neteland natives Bartel Van Riet, Hans Van Dijck and Joeri Cortens.

Natural beauty

Water

It’s all in the name: water is ubiquitous in the ‘Neteland’. Not only because of the idyllic Kleine Nete and the Aa which flow together to create a beautiful natural environment, but also because of the Albert Canal and its lock complex, the still operational watermill and water towers, the Pidpa water extraction plant and ‘Hidrodoe’ – a water-centred, interactive science educational park.

Sports

The Neteland boasts all kinds of sports infrastructure (like the Sports Flanders domain), competitions and champions. Did you know that world champion motocross rider René Baeten, Golden Shoe Lucien Olieslagers, Davis Cup coach Johan Van Herck, the Verlooy family (equestrian sport), the cream of ice hockey (HYC) and athletes like Fons Brydenbach, Denise Verhaert and Marleen Mols are all Netelanders? In cycling, you must have heard of the Natourcriterium and the Rik Van Looy GP in Herentals, the Veldritten cyclo-cross and the Herman Vanspringels Diamond in Vorselaar... and of the champions who live here: Rik Van Looy, Herman Vanspringel, Ward Sels, Daniël Willems, Jan Bakelants, Jurgen Van den Broeck and cyclocross champions such as Bart Wellens, Erwin Vervecken, Sanne Cant and Wout Van Aert.

Sports

Crafts & industry

The Neteland is noted for its diamond industry but also for heavier industries such as the iron foundry in Herentals, the (copper) factories in Olen and the industrial zones along the Albert Canal. Traces of iron ore mining era are still visible in the landscape of the Aa valley, and large areas of the open countryside are obviously shaped by farming as well. The Cloth Hall is a relic of the cloth industry, but smaller crafts such as Ferdinand Van Hilst (shoe manufacturer) have also influenced entrepreneurship in our region.

Heritage & religion

Did you know that Cardinal Van Roey, Bishop Jan De Bie and Father Kristiaan all originally came from the Neteland? The region is still home to many religious relics and traditions. The same goes for local sacred architecture, with dozens of chapels in the villages, monasteries, a former convent (beguinage)... The Neteland boasts a rich religious heritage. And our many museums are worth a visit.

Fun & games

Children can have great fun in the Neteland. Attractions and parks include: Hidrodoe, the Netepark, De Kloek indoor playground, bowling centres, petting zoos such as the Lenteheide and ‘t Karrewiel, an indoor ice rink, 71 playgrounds, and more.

Fun & games

Circuits and trails

Cycling

Marked cycling networks and a lot of themed routes such as the Watermill Route and cycling routes named after Provincial Governor Kinsbergen, Rik Van Looy, Bart Wellens, Cardinal Van Roey and Emperor Charles V.

Hiking

Marked hiking trail circuits (including Kempense Beemden, Kempense Heuvelrug), a slow trail network, a choice of dozens of themed routes around chapels, castle estates, the Merodese Bossen and Lovenhoek (‘prettiest trail of the year’ award), a historic city walk and exciting walks like the ‘Boudewijnpad’ and the ‘Koperdorppad’. Every year, the Kempens Karakter heritage unit lists all winter walks in the area. There are winter walks almost every week, allowing you to discover the area and enjoy its fairytale Christmas atmosphere.

Contact

Neteland

www.nete.land

Toerisme Kempen

www.kempen.be

Grobbendonk

Astridplein 3, 228O Grobbendonk
O14 51 43 94

Olen

Lichtaartseweg 9, 225O Olen
O14 27 94 22

Herentals

Grote Markt 35, 22OO Herentals
O14 21 9O 88

Herenthout

Bouwelse Steenweg 8, 227O Herenthout
O14 5O 78 5O

Vorselaar

Markt 14, 229O Vorselaar
O14 5O 71 O4

neteland toerisme
Bienvenue

Le Neteland (ou pays de la Nèthe) est une région verdoyante située au coeur de la Campine anversoise. Se promener en forêt, faire du vélo le long de routes de campagne, flâner à la découverte de superbes bâtiments historiques, pagayer en kayak sur la Petite Nèthe... Les possibilités sont multiples !

Les communes de Grobbendonk, Herentals, Herenthout, Olen et Vorselaar proposent un large éventail d’activités pour se détendre et de divertir.

Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir un vaste réseau de randonnées, faire une promenade en vélo captivante ou décontractée, ou pour passer une journée au bord de l’eau. Notre région est un mélange unique de patrimoine historique, de très nombreux points d’eau et d’immenses espaces verts. Le Neteland vous permet à la fois de décompresser et de faire de multiples activités.

Visitez...

Grobbendonk

Avec Bouwel, Grobbendonk dispose d’un riche passé historique qui nous fait remonter le temps au-delà des débuts de notre ère. Son histoire est étroitement liée à l’industrie diamantaire qui en a fait sa réputation. Le sol est également rempli d’artéfacts gallo-romains.

Aussi, Grobbendonk est une commune résolument entreprenante. La zone aux environs de l’E313 et du Canal Albert fourmille d’activités. La zone aux alentours du « Hof van Grobbendonk » (ou Clos de Grobbendonk), du moulin et du Prieuré Notre-Dame-du-Trône, où la Petite Nèthe et l’affluent Aa se rejoignent, est clairement pittoresque.

Grobbendonk
Herentals

Herentals

Herentals doit son titre de « capitale historique de la Campine » à son riche passé et à ses monuments historiques admirables. Songez par exemple au Boerenkrijgmonument (monument commémorant la Guerre des Paysans) et au Lakenhal (Halle aux draps) sur la grande place du marché, à l’ancien hôpital, au château Le Paige tout proche ou au béguinage. Le nord de la ville est particulièrement agréable, avec les superbes zones naturelles, dunes et forêts du Heuvelrug campinois et les clapotis de la Petite Nèthe. Herentals est également un paradis pour les amateurs de sports aquatiques extérieurs avec une multitude d’attractions telles que le Netepark et le musée scientifique Hidrodoe.

Herenthout

Des célébrations exubérantes aux paysages magnifiques, en passant par une taverne centenaire : dans le village carnavalesque d’Herentout, tout est possible. « Peer Stoet » est le cortège carnavalesque le plus vieux du pays. Sur le plan paysager, la commune a aussi beaucoup à offrir. Pensez notamment à l’écrin de nature qui abrite les bois des Mérode, à De Wimpe et au ‘t Schipke, où le film « Pallieter » a été tourné. Le château de Herlaer et la chapelle de Uilenberg forment des repères visuels pour le promeneur.

Herenthout
Olen

Olen

La foule de récits populaires et la multitude de monuments maintiennent les visites légendaires de Charles Quint bien vivantes. Dans le joli village d’Olen, le patrimoine est remarquable, notamment avec la Cité d’Olen, la place typique du village et sa fontaine des pots « à trois anses », ou bien encore le moulin Buul. Olen est une commune pleine de vie. Tout au long de l’année, vous pouvez participer à de nombreux événements (le festival de musique Gladiolen, le festival de variétés, la kermesse rurale Boerkesfeest et le festival pour enfants Keizer Kriek). Tous les ans, la « Kartoenale » y est organisée. Ce concours attire des dessinateurs du monde entier. Vous pouvez voir ces dessins sur deux éoliennes du complexe d’écluses et au cours d’une exposition.

Vorselaar

Vorselaar est une commune tranquille offrant un cadre verdoyant pour la randonnée pédestre ou cycliste. Le château (une superbe forteresse médiévale entourée de douves), le pilori ancestral (sur la place du marché), le magnifique cloître (centre de l’enseignement catholique en Flandre), l’église et les chapelles sont autant de lieux à découvrir. Vorselaar est également connue pour être la commune du Cardinal van Roey (et son ancienne résidence « la ferme de Schranshoeve »), de l’industrie diamantaire et de champions sportifs (pensez notamment au Soulier d’or Lucien Olieslagers, aux cyclistes Bart Wellens, Ward Sels, à l’athlète Fons Brydenbach, etc.).

Vorselaar

Le pays...

De la nature

Le Neteland est une zone rurale verdoyante par excellence. De grandes réserves naturelles, des hectares de prairies et des forêts riches en oxygène façonnent encore de grandes parties du paysage. Sur le petit écran, vous pouvez retrouver ces naturalistes flamands connus originaires de la région : Bartel Van Riet, Hans Van Dijck et Joeri Cortens.

De la nature

De l’eau

Le Neteland (pays de la rivière Nèthe) est par définition riche en eau. En plus de la Petite Nèthe et de la rivière Aa qui s’écoulent dans un environnement naturel des plus magnifiques, vous y découvrirez aussi le Canal Albert et son complexe d’écluses, le moulin à eau et les châteaux d’eau encore en activité, le captage d’eau de PIDPA et le musée aquatique Hidrodoe.

Du sport

Le Neteland est une région qui fait la part belle aux infrastructures sportives (comme en témoigne le domaine de l’organisation Sport Vlaanderen) et aux compétitions, et qui est aussi le lieu où de nombreux champions ont élu domicile. Saviez-vous que le champion du monde de motocross René Baeten, le Soulier d’or Lucien Olieslagers, le coach de la Coupe Davis Johan Van Herck, la famille Verlooy (équitation), le club de hockey sur glace HYC et des athlètes comme Fons Brydenbach, Denise Verhaert, Marleen Mols étaient tous originaires de cette région ? Dans le monde du cyclisme, vous connaissez à coup sûr le critérium d’après-Tour et le Grand Prix Rik Van Looy à Herentals, les courses de cross et la Herman Van Springel Diamond à Vorselaar. Le Neteland est aussi une terre d’accueil pour d’autres champions : Rik Van Looy, Herman Van Springel, Ward Sels, Daniël Willems, Jan Bakelants, Jurgen Van den Broeck et les virtuoses de cyclo-cross Bart Wellens, Erwin Vervecken, Sanne Cant et Wout Van Aert.

Du sport

De l’artisanat et de l’industrie

Le Neteland est connu pour son industrie diamantaire, mais aussi pour des industries plus lourdes comme la fonderie d’Herentals, les « usines (de cuivre) d’Olen » et les zones industrielles qui entourent le Canal Albert. Le paysage est encore marqué par l’extraction de limonite dans la vallée de l’Aa, mais évidemment aussi par les agriculteurs qui entretiennent de grandes étendues du domaine à ciel ouvert. Le Lakenhal (ou Halle aux draps) est un vestige de l’industrie drapière. De petits artisans comme Ferdinand Van Hilst (fabricant de chaussures) ont également eu une influence sur l’entrepreneuriat dans notre région.

Du patrimoine et de la religion

Saviez-vous que le Cardinal Van Roey, l’évêque Jan De Bie et le Père Kristiaan étaient originaires du Neteland ? Les traditions et vestiges religieux parsèment encore la région à l’heure actuelle. Il suffit de regarder autour de vous pour apercevoir des dizaines de petites chapelles dans les hameaux, des cloîtres, un béguinage... Le patrimoine religieux y est omniprésent. Nombre de musées méritent également une visite.

Des jeux et des divertissements

Le Neteland permet aussi aux enfants de passer des moments extraordinaires. Pensez notamment au parc et musée Hidrodoe, au Netepark, au jardin d’enfants intérieur De Kloek, aux bowlings, aux fermes pédagogiques comme Lenteheide et ‘t Karrewiel, à une patinoire couverte, à 71 terrains de jeux, etc.

Des jeux et des divertissements

Marche et vélo

Des randonnées cyclistes

Découvrez les nombreux itinéraires cyclistes et parcours thématiques comme la route des moulins à eau (Watermolenroute) et les circuits cyclotouristes nommés d’après le Gouverneur Kinsbergen, Rik Van Looy, Bart Wellens, Cardinal Van Roey et Charles Quint.

Randonnées pédestres

Les amateurs de marche ne sont pas en reste avec des itinéraires de randonnées pédestres (Kempense Beemden, Kempense Heuvelrug par exemple), un réseau de voies réservées aux marcheurs, des dizaines de parcours thématiques à la découverte de chapelles, châtelains, des Bois de Mérode et Lovenhoek (nommée « la plus belle promenade de l’année »), une promenade urbaine historique et des balades palpitantes comme le Boudewijnpad et le Koperdorppad. La cellule Kempens Karakter en charge du patrimoine rassemble chaque année toutes les promenades hivernales de la région. Pratiquement toutes les semaines, des balades sont organisées pour vous permettre de profiter de la région et l’ambiance féérique de Noël.

Contacter

Neteland

www.nete.land

Toerisme Kempen

www.kempen.be

Grobbendonk

Astridplein 3, 228O Grobbendonk
O14 51 43 94

Olen

Lichtaartseweg 9, 225O Olen
O14 27 94 22

Herentals

Grote Markt 35, 22OO Herentals
O14 21 9O 88

Herenthout

Bouwelse Steenweg 8, 227O Herenthout
O14 5O 78 5O

Vorselaar

Markt 14, 229O Vorselaar
O14 5O 71 O4